dinner on the ranch

September 24, 2008 at 2:08 am (Uncategorized)

Tonight I cooked up one helluva dinner. One of my favorite patrons of the local diner recently gave me a longhorn arm roast, off a free range organic longhorn steer, from the ranch he runs down the way. I paired it up with some super big ripe tomatoes my neighbors gave to me, along with some sweet & spicy banana peppers from another favorite local gardner. I creamed up some corn, whipped up some mashed potatoes, oh, and heated up a creamy tomato soup, again with those homegrown tomatoes. While all this was being cooked up and devoured, I had a peach/strawberry pie baking in the oven. The peaches are from my favorite place in this universe to get fruit, the Kimberly Orchards, right down the way, and I have to tell you, there is nothing like picking fresh peaches off trees with heavy branches. It is a treat to get lost in rows and rows of big fruit bearing peach trees down there.

In a bit, I am going to slice up that pie, as it’s still cooling at the moment. I am starting to earn a bit of a repuation for my fancy deserts & pies down at the cafe. A couple came in the other day and said they came all the way from McMinneville for a slice of pie, as their friends told it was the best they’d ever found. I have been selling slices of pie & towering strawberry shortcakes to just about every customer that steps through the door, a few have gotten away without trying a slice, but they had to put up a good fight. How can anyone turn down fresh local strawberries poured ontop of a shortcake biscuit that “just came outta the oven”, served alongside a scoop of old fashioned hard vanilla ice cream? And oh, those strawberries are something else, we buy them from a gardner less than 1/2 a mile from the cafe, and they are absolutely divine. Tomorrow I have to get to work a little early to knock out 2 pies that were ordered and prepaid for by some outta town hunters, as they insisted on having 2 pies togo. Now, I can’t take all the credit for the great pies that come out of the restaurant, but I sure do enjoy taking a slice of the pie!

Leave a Reply

