pruning trees

March 8, 2009 at 11:46 pm (Uncategorized) (, , )

Nothing like a serious tree pruning! This time they even brought out the big guns. Below is a picture of a few excavators in my front yard, who are taking down big ol’ junipers that are in the way of the new powerline that is going in.

excavators

 I didn’t quite believe my landlord a while back, when he said he was having the powerline moved so it wouldn’t obstruct the view from the back deck, but low and behold, the power company is re-routing the power lines, as it’s time to replace them anyway.

I did quite a bit of tree pruning too this past week, now, I only used a pair of clippers, but I still hit the apple tree orchard pretty hard. I’d say I have a couple more hours of pruning, and then the trees will be ready for this summer. I think it’s been a few years since they have been pruned, so it’s been quite the job, but I found a lot of useful advice when looking online. I learned to not be afraid to really prune them, get rid of all branches that cross one another or are growing downwards, also really open up the center of the tree so it can absord the most sunlight.

This afternoon the skys gave way to a quick snow flurry, and when Lucky and I were on our walk, it was like we were walking in a snowglobe. Below is a picture of the pruned apple trees in a snowglobe. Oh, and look at that nice fence some gal musta built (with the help from a friend, thanks again, Austen)!

apple-tress

Leave a Reply

