the country store

March 8, 2009 at 11:14 pm (Uncategorized) (, , , , , , , , )

I have to say I pride myself in stocking my kitchen well. Lately, I have been doing my grocery shopping every other week, or a few times a month, and that’s that, no running out to the store for a little this or that, no quart of milk from the 7-11, and seeing as there aren’t any stores open in Wheeler County after 6 or 7 in the evening, you learn to make do. Did you know you can’t even buy gasoline after 6:30 pm, as the only 3 gas stations within a 80+ mile radius are all closed by 6:30 too. rustic-pear-tart-on-wood-pileI think it’s a fun challenge, and this morning I was able to whip up 2 pear tarts and a blueberry crisp, both with ingredients I bought quite a while ago. The pears were ready to go, as in go to the trash, so I had to use them or loose them this morning. Here is a link to the “rustic” pear tart I made, pretty fattening, but awfully good! Oh, and I substituted a 1/2 cup of the flour in the crust for almond meal, which I made by pulverizing almonds in the coffee grinder. http://find.myrecipes.com/recipes/recipefinder.dyn?action=displayRecipe&recipe_id=523449

The blueberry crisp came out pretty nice too, although next time I think I will cut back on the sugar, here is a link to the recipe I used: http://southernfood.about.com/od/blueberryrecipes/r/blbb476.htm I had a cup of fresh blueberries mixed with a bag of frozen ones, and it came out pretty nice!

I have learned to always have a few pounds of butter on hand (doesn’t that sound bad!) frozen berries in the freezer, a couple varities of cheese (lately I have been obsessed with string cheese), a few 10 pound bags of flour, cartons of rice milk in the cupboard, potatoes in the pantry, bags of fresh fruits when I can get ’em, a backstock of brown & white sugar, and well, a girl can do a lot with just a few ingredients.

Leave a Reply

