farm fresh eggs & pig feed

April 26, 2009 at 3:43 pm (Uncategorized)

eggsA few months ago we hired a part time Maintenace Worker, who is now my co-worker at City Hall. I can no longer claim to be the only paid employee, as now there are two of us.

He is a super nice guy. He and his family live in this amazing old homestead, kinda like my place but super special in it’s own ways. They raise pigs & chickens, and I have started buying my weekly dozen eggs from them. So much nicer knowing your eggs come from happy chickens, who still have their beaks attached and aren’t cooped up in little cages.

My co-worker almost talked me into raising my own pig, and some chickens here at my place, but I am not yet convinced I want that much more added responsilbility. For now, I am more than happy to just visit their farm.

At the restaurant, we are now saving our food scraps for the hogs. It’s nice knowing all the stale bread, leftover potatoes, and scraps will be going into the mouths of hungry pigs and staying out of the landfills. And in exchange for bringing out a couple buckets of chow, they sent me home with the dozen & a half farm fresh eggs pictured above.

Leave a Reply

