watch out for Russo Rapids!?!

June 10, 2009 at 5:40 pm (The Most Wild Adventures) (, , , , , , , , , , , )

john day river

Yesterday, I got a wonderful call while at City Hall. Would I like to float the John Day that afternoon? Say no more, I hopped outta work at 2pm and we were canoeing down the river by 3:30, in which time I let the dogs loose for a bit and a serious flat tire was repaired on the Service Creek rig.

When I hear the word “canoe” I automatically think of the words “tippy, tippy”. Cuz folks, they truly are, espeically when a bunch of water continues to cascade into them when running rapids. I don’t care what the class – I, II, maybe even O+ rapids, they all look way big from the seat of a little canoe.  I think both Dave & I secretly wanted to tip our canoe, you know just to experience it all. The other canoe tipped first, and was a bit of an ordeal. Dave had it all under control after a couple bodies and one submerged boat floated a good 1/2 mile down river, but the whole experience definately added some excitement to our trip! It was just a few river miles later when I got to go under. We were in the biggest rapids on the section between Service Creek and Twickenham, Russo Rapids, a Class II – which translates to a little bump in a raft, or a wild soaking wet ride in a canoe. There is this moment, that almost happens in slow motion, where you realize you are going down. It’s gotta be one of the coolest feelings, becuase there is nothing you can do to stop it, except go with it and enjoy the ride.

Link to video of someone else’s trip down Russo in a Pontoon Boat, but like I was saying if you want a wet and wild ride, well a canoe is the way to go!http://video.google.com/videoplay?docid=5222418940303286506

Total trip took 4.5 hours. 13 river miles. 2 capsized boats. 2 spilled beers. 1 big flat tire. and 4 bbq’d painted hills beef steaks to finish off the night right.

Leave a Reply

