dreaming of peach pie by the slice

August 30, 2009 at 7:49 pm (Uncategorized) (, , , , , , , , , )

peach pie

Heaven awaits just around the corner. Well, at least a tree full of ripe peaches will be waiting for me to pick ’em in less than 7 days. I am so excited about my peaches. I just whipped up a little (big) sign to advertise “Homemade Peach Pie, $3.50 Slice, $4 w/ Ice Cream.”

My B&B Pie Shop Dreams are materializing before my eyes! Last night was another awesome NeverCanEvers concert. After the show, I invited the band over for drinks, as the bars out in these parts (2 of them total in the whole county) like to close up around 10pm. Along with the band, came a fellow Kate & I had talked with through the evening at the concert. He has spent a great amount of time in the area, has worked with well more than a handful of the locals, and when he remarked about not being able to get a room at the motel, I offered him a room in my “boarding house” for the night for a mere $25, which included brown sugar pecan topped french toast (made with local farm fresh eggs, which he contributed) and applewood smoked bacon, which I always keep stocked in the freezer, always. He ended up leaving a nice tip too. I am stoked.

I love this whole dream. I live way out here, in a super remote spot, with friends dotted around the rim rock, then on occasion I have folks rent a room at my place. I get to chit chat with fresh blood on the back porch and they get to spend the night in the ultimate little (very fairly priced) country guest house.

The dream continues. The linemen working in the area have already been asking about when they will get to try my peach pie. I am pretty sure putting this sign out along the road when I am at home, will have ’em dropping in for pie & ice cream. On my last trip to town I bought 5 pounds of butter, in preparation for all the pie crust I will be baking. And seeing at the peaches aren’t going to cost me a dime, other than all that darn labor I put into pruning ’em earlier this spring, well this should be a fun way to earn a few extra bucks. I just have to get to them before the darn deer eat ’em all up. They just started sneaking in the other night, and I just went out to fix a hole they made in the fence, only knowing they will just make another one!

peaches over barbwire

view from under a peach tree, looking out. notice the new power line on the horizon.

6 Comments

  1. guest said,

    I have a suggestion ! How about offering venison on the menu ? Offer something new AND get rid of the deer problem. 😀 Hmm I’m not winning any PETA brownie points am I ?

    All kidding aside, sucks about the deer issue. Someone needs to inform the deer that peaches are people food, grass is deer food. Perhaps a pie chart (get it ? ) would help the deer understand. I’m just glad your B&B dreams are slowly coming alive !

  2. galwith750acres said,

    ya know, I was thinking…. hunting season did just open this weekend;) then I thought, heck I will just sit on the back deck all night and try to scare ’em away with my rifle. too bad a gal has to sleep at some point, or she would probably do it!

    good idea with the vension though! I’d say they will end up getting 1/3 of my peaches, but then I will get the other 2/3 (hopefully that is!). darn boogers! I bet they have been waiting all summer for these fruits to be ready for eating just like this gal has!

  3. guest said,

    I was mostly joking with the venison thing… 😀 Here are something I found on tips for deer http://www.associatedcontent.com/article/809263/how_to_keep_deer_away_from_your_garden.html?cat=32

    This might sound gross but have you tried peeing on/around the fence ? I’ll assume you eat meat and in doing so you have the pee smell of a predator from the meat in your diet. Deer rely on scent a lot and can easily tell if a predator is around by the scent marks (pee). I’m not a farm guy though, just trying to brainstorm and suggest some low cost ways to try.

  4. BC said,

    The fences in the pic won’t be stopping many deer, I’ve seen them clear 8ft fence with little effort. One thing I tried this year to protect some young fruit trees was laying out chicken wire on the ground around the base of the trees, supposedly the deer don’t like the feel of the wire, so won’t walk on it. Can’t really say how effective it was as we don’t get many deer here, yet, that will change as the fruit trees grow I am sure.

    Have you given any thought to a small winter kitchen garden to go with your B&B?

    There is a really good plant nursery out that way in Albany OR, called Nichols Garden Nursery [website nicholsgardennursery.com] that have a lot of unusual winter garden type seeds, like their carrots that can stay in the ground all winter without cracking [yellowstone], one we tried was purple haze nice carro, striking color & good taste, a nice lettuce mix they offer is called mesclun mix, a 21 day to baby size [best harvest size] harvest mix.

    • galwith750acres said,

      Hey, BC, thanks for the advice 🙂

      Yeah that pic in the photo of the ol’ fence is just an ol’ fence across the way. You can’t see it, but there is a 7 to 8 foot tall fence around the orchard, 5 feet or so high of woven wire, then barb wire around the top. I had to repair 100 feet of fence and build a big chunk of it last year, so yeah, it certainly aint the strongest. link to little blog about it w/ photo:
      https://galwith750acres.wordpress.com/2009/02/24/mending-fence/
      It could be a lot better though, and by next year I am betting it will be!

      Love the idea about a winter garden. Most of my garden this year is growing on the back deck in 5 gallon buckets, all sorts of fresh herbs, peppers, lavender, garlic, strawberries, all things I want to try to bring inside this winter and set by the big sunny windows.

  5. BC said,

    Thanks for the link to the fence building/repair. That is a lot of work, I know having done a bit of it myself.

    That should keep them out unless they are really hungry.

    One thing I learned about bring in peppers and such is what is called a “cold sink”, which just means something to draw the cold away from the plants. It can be as simple as keeping the pots off the floor by a foot or so or placing near an opening such as a cellar where all the cold can go into a basement. It makes about a 5-7 degree difference which may not sound like much can amount to a lot of wood saved.

    If you get really energetic a simple lean to type greenhouse is not too difficult to construct, and can also provide a degree of solar heating to a house. It’s like the next step up from a large bay window.

    One thing that may be of interest to you is that there are several websites that have plans for building all sorts of stuff for farms/homesteads, Univ of Tennessee has such a site: http://bioengr.ag.utk.edu/extension/extpubs/planlist97.htm

    There are others sites but you need to look at the Univ websites and such to find them, part of the so called hidden web because search engine spiders don’t normally pick up these websites. Something like 2/3 of all the information available is contained in the hidden web. Lots of neat homesteading books in lots of Univ. libraries is also located there.

Leave a Reply

