following the rainbow

September 29, 2009 at 7:56 pm (Uncategorized)

rainbow on ranch

Sometimes you just know. When everything is in ebb & flow. You get home and even find a rainbow.

Last night we had the most perfect meal. A meal that tied in all parts of my life out here. A few weeks back, I had rented out a room for a night to a boarder, blogged below, and he not only left me a nice chunk of change, but also left me with a nice hunk of lamb he had butchered from a 4-H Lamb raised in Heppner.

Last night Jeremy marinated those perfect little lambchops, added thinly sliced garlic and rosemary that has been growing on the back porch, and the pefect blend of oil, salt, pepper & spices. He even mashed the potatoes for me, so when I got home I could quickly turn them into homemade gnocchi (recipe below). I boiled them little gnocchi dumplings and pan fried them in olive oil, tomatoes that were given to me by my local mechanic who just repacked the bearings on the Shasta, and tossed in some backporch basil. Most of this meal was free, and felt like a gift. The only true costs where a few potatoes & flour & cooking oil. Pumpkin Cream Cheese Muffins (recipe on last blog post) for dessert were also a treat, as the canned pumpkin I used was given too me, aswell as the recipe.

This one is surely going in the Poor Ladies Cookbook:

Gnocchi – Cheap & Easy!

2 lbs baking potatoes, chopped up, boiled and mashed
2 eggs
1 & 1/2 cups flour (I used a gluten free blend)
Pinch of Salt
Olive Oil
Optional Fixin’s: Pasta Sauce, Garlic & Parmesan, Fresh Tomatoes & Basil…

Boil, Drain, Mash Potatoes. Let cool. Add eggs & flour. Mix Together. Roll out 3/4″ long snakes of dough, cut 1 inch long sections, press with a fork for decoration.

Boil bitsize dumplings in water for appox. 3 minutes, or until they rise to the surface. I like to then scoop ’em out with a slotted spoon and pan fry with herbs, garlic, tomatoes, & cheese.

Leave a Reply

