goats goats goats

October 31, 2009 at 3:40 am (Uncategorized) (, , , , , , , , , , , )

Below is an article I wrote for the November Issue of The Horsefly. I hope the overall message gets across that I do love having the goats, but I can’t wait for the day when I get home and they aren’t greeting me on my front porch, cuz they have broken out yet again!

andrea and little miss foxy

Are you sure you want to get goats? I mean really sure?

This was a question I asked someone who wanted to bring home 4 baby goats. In all honesty, I really wasn’t sure I wanted truly wanted goats. I hadn’t been dreaming of goats, I didn’t have a whole lot of extra free time to take care of goats, and I certainly wasn’t feeling a void in my life not having goats.

Well, I now have 4 baby goats. Oh, and the person who bought the goats, and was going to feed and help take care of them, well, that person has moved on, but not my 4 little goats, they are still working on moving in!

It’s been a few weeks, and well, I have to admit that I am really starting to like the little boogers. I will say that they certainly eat a lot more than just weeds though, because they also eat a lot of time and money!

goats

I had to buy materials, recruit friends, and hire help to get the goat house constructed. I had to again buy materials, recruit friends, and hire help to get heavy duty fences up. And then I had to so the same again for some heavy duty gates. That’s a good chunk of change and a few weekends, just to start.

I say all this, because if somebody out there wants goats, or is even just toying with the idea of having goats, can I ask you to please borrow my goats, house-sit for me, or just come visit them once in a while? I don’t want to give them up, heck I have invested too much at this point (and I have to admit they are a lot of fun), but I just want to save someone else from having to learn this same lesson.

You are more than welcome to borrow my goats for a few weeks; they can clear out some weeds for you, destroy your garden, take out a tree or two, and maybe even jump on your car! They might decide to entertain you by sneaking out of whatever fence you put them behind (they are really good at this) and you can chase them around your yard for hours. You can also have fun petting them and experience what it’s like to be mauled over for a bucket of grain. You can giggle while they try to eat your clothing and anything you might have sticking out of a back pocket. But with all that said, I have to finish off by saying that Snowball, Miss Foxy, Chuck, and Van Goat, are a really fun addition to my life out here, and they are super friendly, after they have been fed, that is.

chuck, miss foxy, van gogh & snowball

Here is a treat both you and the goats will like, as the goats will enjoy eating all the leftover apple peels & cores. This recipe is so good, I have made it 4 times in the last 10 days (don’t worry it wasn’t ALL for me!)

Apple Crisp

3 pounds tart apples apple for crisp
2 tbsp lemon juice
½ cup brown sugar
½ tsp cinnamon
½ tsp nutmeg
1/3 cup flour
1/3 cup white sugar
1/3 cup oats
½ stick butter (4 tablespoons)
dash of salt (optional)
½ cup chopped almonds, walnuts, or pecans
1 – 9 inch square baking dish

Peel, core and chop the apples; toss in a bowl with lemon juice. Add the brown sugar, cinnamon, and nutmeg and toss to combine. In another bowl combine flour, sugar and oats.

Cut butter into smaller pieces, then cut butter into flour with a pastry blender or fork until mixture is crumbly. Stir in the chopped nuts. Butter a 9-inch square baking dish.

Spread apple mixture in bottom of baking dish then sprinkle flour/oat mixture on top.

Bake at 375° for 30 to 45 minutes, or until apples are tender and the top is lightly browned.

This recipe can be enjoyed warm with ice cream, cold as a snack in the middle of the night, or right at room temperature. A perfect treat, and so much easier to bake than an apple pie!

1 Comment

  1. hartage said,

    My oh my,

    Three dogs, two cats, four goats with the occasional coyote, opossum or big kitty dropping by. You’ve got a petting zoo !

Leave a Reply

